top of page

Acerca de

Annual Open and Photographer of the Year Competition

April  2022

This is our most prestigious competition of our club's year.  It is a one-off points-scoring competition.  Members can enter five images in any spread they wish across the five categories - (prints) A4 colour or mono, and  any size print , colour or mono, on a 40 x 50 cm mount and DPI images in mono or colour.

There was an impressive range of images on show from the  thirteen members who participated - landscapes, studio portraiture, studio creative, street, architecture, nature, sport, etc.


The competition was ably  judged by Tony Curtis, President of the Isle of Man Photographic Society, who selected a superb and much-admired studio shot by Ian Knight as Image of the year.  Ian lives in South Wales and is one of a small number of members who compete as 'distant' members, submitting their DPI entries on-line. He is a loyal  member who competes regularly - these members usually have a close family conectioon with the IOM.

Each entry was scored out of 20 points.  The overall points winner in the competion was Dennis Wood with 94 points, with three people all on 91 points in second place  -  John Keelan,  Ian knight  and  Dave Salter.

The Individual category winners were Dave Salter n the A4 prints with Waiting Patiently, Dennis Wood in the A3 Mono with Tram 28 in LisbonJohn Keelan in A3 Colour with My Ball, Dennis Wood in the Mono DPI with On  It and Ian Knight in the Colour DPI with the overall individual  Image winner,  That's Just Right

Congratulation to all the winners - all well-deserved.  Our thanks go to Tony for his considered judging and detailed commetary on each image, and to all members who porticipated and attended;  also to Doreen and Trevor for the ever-reliable support in the coffee break.  We would dearly love to see some new members attending and, hopefully, participating.  This was the lowest number of members taking part and lowest total number of entries for a very long time but the standard was arguably the highest ever. 

Bravo WPS members.

Report by Dr Patricia Tutt, ARPS, CPAGB

bottom of page