top of page

Photographer Of The Year, 2016/17

Dave Salter

Winning images by Dave Salter

Write Up by Tony Faragher

 The Western Photographic Society holds the  Photographer Of The Year following its annual end-of- season contest to choose the best images and the most successful contestants who participated over the past eight months.


After an entertaining night in which the judge, Adrian Cowin appraised dozens of prints and digitally projected shots, mono and colour, David Salter was awarded the coveted top prize after producing consistently high quality work throughout.


Dave has  produced highly successful  work throughout the season, his images being consistently placed or highly commended during the competitions the  club runs during the autumn and winter months at their Peel Legion Club venue each Thursday night.   Dave also won the Bob Martin Trophy,  John Cowell Cup and the John Hall Trophy.


Open comps like this are split into five classes, smaller A4 prints, larger A3, mono then colour, and digitals (DPIs) mono then colour. Competitors may enter the maximum number of five images, but can choose any category to put them in.


As has been his trend throughout, Dave chose to spread his entries across the five classes, and it became clear early in the night, that all were scoring very highly.


This highlight of the club’s calendar gives its members the chance to bring out their winning images from earlier comps. 


Adrian's scoring gave a total of ......  marks out of 100 and first place to Dave Salter, 81 marks and joint second place to Chris Nicholls, Dennis Wood and John Keelan. In third place with 79 marks was Gordon Corrin, whilst Doug Allan, Doreen Kelly and Tony Faragher tied in fourth with 78.


A vote of thanks for his excellent judging ability was proposed by Ruth Nicholls who expressed the widely felt views of the Society that Adrian Cowin had coped with a very difiicult job ,with such a large entry which was one of the best in such capacity for some time. He will be invited again next season to judge one of our comps.


All awards, cups and trophies will be presented at the club’s annual dinner in Filbey’s Restaurant on Peel Quayside next Wednesday May 3rd , with Adrian Cowin and his wife  guest of honour. All the winning and commended images can also be viewed by following the links on


Results: These can be found on the 'Results' page of our web site.


Annual Open Presentation Pictures

Awasrds presented by  WPS  President Doug Allan and Vice President Eddie Fryer,

Class Winners Were;-

Jim Lace, Mono Prints, with 326 points. He also won the Jim Gorrey Trophy.

John Keelan, Colour Prints

With 321 points

Carol Basnett, A4

With 342 points

Ian Knight, Mono dpi's

with 248 points

Doug Allan, Colour dpi's

with 335 points

Award Winners Were;-

Joseph Parys

Best in Prints, Colour and Mono, in Newcommers Points Chamionship 

John Hall, Best A4 in President's Comp

Chris Nicholls

The Nicholl's Trophy

Khadija Parys, Beginners points Championship

Dennis Wood, won;

Jack Pugh Memorial Cup,

Masonic Trophy,

Mannanin Trophy

Steve Babb

Newcommers points Trophy

Reuben Allan, Junior championship

Doreen Kelly

Best Colour Dpi in President's Comp.

Ruth Nicholls

Secretary's Trophy,

Beaumant Cup and

`Moore Stephin's Trophy


bottom of page